Ram Rebel Forum banner

21 - 39 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Hmmm weird. Which version are you using windows or android also which obd reader are you using?
Windows 10 on a brand new dell g7 with an OBDLink mx Bluetooth reader. If you can help me sort it out that would be great. Don’t really want to buy a android tablet and repurchase alfaobd if I don’t have to
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
269 Posts
I'm gonna try and replicate your issue here in a moment if got my obd reader in the truck I'm just in a tire shop right now, but off the top of my head here are some things to try if your not doing them already
First make sure your ignition is in the run position but the truck isn't actually running also when connecting to your bluetooth reader make sure you connect to it threw the computer first then alfaobd and last when trying to connect to the bcm you may have last years model in there like mines a 2017 but it comes up as a 2016 so try connecting to a different year doesn't hurt but if it's none of those thing leave a post walking me threw on how your trying to connect and I can go from there
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
7B2E5794-9578-4A52-ADC5-87FBE890B68F.jpeg
B2967653-0A3C-487C-ADA8-E7FFFA206249.jpeg
7B2E5794-9578-4A52-ADC5-87FBE890B68F.jpeg
B2967653-0A3C-487C-ADA8-E7FFFA206249.jpeg
I plug the OBDLink mx in and open my Bluetooth connections. Press button on reader and connect it. Put truck into run not running then start OBDWiz and connect. Then start alfaobd. It’s not showing me an option to select a year. It looks like it’s conncting to my2012
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
269 Posts
Connect to the bcm not suspension it should be my powernet 2016/2017 once in the bcm your gonna select car configuration change or something along those lines then once your there your gonna wanna select P/T Chassis Net-ASCM Air Suspension Control Module and disable it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Connect to the bcm not suspension it should be my powernet 2016/2017 once in the bcm your gonna select car configuration change or something along those lines then once your there your gonna wanna select P/T Chassis Net-ASCM Air Suspension Control Module and disable it
Ok, thanks. I’ll try it when I get home. Crossing my fingers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Ok, thanks. I’ll try it when I get home. Crossing my fingers!
So I tried it again and got the same message: you were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. According to alexey it’s an IP address issue. I tried changing the ip address to what he suggested and it didn’t help although it did disconnect me from my WiFi ‍♂
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
OP sorry about hijacking thread. Vshni- apparently WiFi and Bluetooth were competing for same IP address so I reconfigured the WiFi and in doing so got disconnected from obdwiz. When that happened it auto connected to alfaobd. Very strange but the air ride is now disabled so I’m happy. Thanks for your input it’s appreciated
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Where is “around here” where 37’s aren’t legal? Power wagons and raptors come with 35’s from the factory and both will clear 37’s with only minor rubbing stock. I’ve run tires as big as 42’s on the street in California without issues?
Power Wagons come stock with 33’s. Some dealerships do a level kit and add 35’s and sell them as “ stock”


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #32
Is this a 2018? Did you have someone install this or did you install yourself? This is what i am wanting to have done, but i cannot find a shop that will touch it.
Half done by the shop (work on the air suspension)

It's a 17, but virtually the same work to do. unplugging compressor, removing leveling/air ride fuses, the only thing i have is a "service air suspension" message at start
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
that looks awesome. what wheels are you running? 20"s on 35"s? i want to get rid of the air suspension on my truck but i dont want to go too high.
truck is my daily driver ya know? i want to run 18" on 35"s. and i think if i lift it 6" that is too high.
You should be able to go with a2 inch lift from what i have seen around here. I have 2020 rebel came with 18s 6 stud. 1 inch lift from factory i think i could put 35s no sweat. Head 33 now with a ton of room but who knows without trying it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
You should be able to go with a2 inch lift from what i have seen around here. I have 2020 rebel came with 18s 6 stud. 1 inch lift from factory i think i could put 35s no sweat. Head 33 now with a ton of room but who knows without trying it
So i installed 17” methods on 315/70-17s. Thats a 35 on the small side and fits perfectly fine with no mods. I think i am going to install the Icon coilover kit when im ready to get rid of the air. Wish me luck😬
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
I replaced the air ride with the BDS kit, if you have any questions View attachment 27613
hi,looks great on the truck! My is 2018 rebel with air ride, I do the 4inchi bds air ride lift kit about one year! Too tired to fight with air ride trouble,need to converse coilover as well! Do you think since I have bds 4inchi components on the truck,maybe I just buy the front coilover and rear spring? If i want keep 4inchi just adjust front coilover down to 4inchi,rear spring 3inchi? But how about I just thought there 6inchi coilover on the front, 5inchi rear spring in the back?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
The knuckles and drop brackets should be the same as the 6” coilover kit. You can buy the fox 2.5 coilovers that are adjustable from 4”-6” of lift. I would compare components with the 2 kits to verify but short answer is yes you should be able to just swap in coilovers in the front and get lift springs or stock springs and spacers for the rear end. Hope that helps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
The knuckles and drop brackets should be the same as the 6” coilover kit. You can buy the fox 2.5 coilovers that are adjustable from 4”-6” of lift. I would compare components with the 2 kits to verify but short answer is yes you should be able to just swap in coilovers in the front and get lift springs or stock springs and spacers for the rear end. Hope that helps
thank you for reply! Is very helpful!
 
21 - 39 of 39 Posts
Top